Many Children = Many Drivers = Many Vehicles

Cars these days seem like a necessary evil. For those of us living in a college town, we certainly don’t need them for everyday use, but at some point we all must return home to our large cities and suburbs, where our cars become our connections to old friends and activities. So, it’s only natural that your children have access to a vehicle…because let’s face it: You certainly don’t want to turn into a chauffeur a gain. But where to start? You see families with one or two children dropping a small fortune on a brand new car for their teenager’s sweet sixteen. But to do that for four or more kids would be ludicrous! So, how do you supply (or help supply) your many drivers with vehicles?

First of all, as parents you should accept the fact that no matter how brilliant or responsible your children are, accidents do happen. So there’s no point in buying your new driver a brand new $17,000 vehicle, because it could very well be totaled withing a few short years. I never thought it’d happen to us, but sure enough, my brother hit a deer while driving us home for Thanksgiving break last year. Even our sturdy 2005 Ford Crown Vic wasn’t salvageable in the aftermath of the deer (although it did a nice job of absorbing the impact; fromt the back seat I didn’t feel a thing).

My parents have slowly purchased cheap, used cars in good condition for us. As each of us has learned to drive, we’ve been given the usage of one of our parents’ cars. But where did my parents find these cars? Well, my sister’s was my grandparents’ old car that my dad bought from them when they decided to upgrade. I drove my dad’s ’93 Ford F-150 throughout my high school years. And the other cars my parents bought were actually purchased over ebay. Finding good deals on cars is definitely possible.

Yes, of course, there’s more to it than just purchasing a cheap car. Insurance (and maintenance) on your vehicle may cost a fortune, but you can look for good student discounts through most insurance companies. There are also some driving classes offered through high schools and insurance companies that (after having completed) will drop your child’s car insurance.

About Sarah Cordonier

I am a junior Television Journalism and International Studies Major at West Virginia University. I am currently taking Beginning Television Reporting and I plan on taking Advanced Television Reporting in the Spring, as a member of WVU News. Someday I would like to work abroad, as an overseas reporter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

