Serious Blogging is Not for the Faint of Heart

I originially chose to give insight on life in a large family, because I thought, “Hey, I’ve been going through this for the past 21.5 years of my life; I got this.” So, I made a list of some possible blog ideas that I thought would keep me going for awhile. Then blog-a-day week came along and pretty much cleaned out my stash. I was afraid of totally draining my sources, so I tried to take a branch of one of my ideas and expand on it, making it a post that could stand alone. It certainly got easier, deciding what could stand on its own and what information really should remain part of a larger idea. It was a little difficult to avoid totally garbage posts. Sometimes I would slap together a post, then have to go back a practically rewrite the whole because what I had just simply wasn’t going to cut it. This week I was definitely forced to go through my blog roll and stay up-to-date on other peoples’ blogs in my field. I also started researching more of what’s going on with large families in the news and science-related fields of study/research. This week I definitely became more familiarized with searching in various places for topic ideas. But it was still frustrating trying to get in a legitimate post every day. I have a deeper respect now for bloggers who blog every day on real news issues.

About Sarah Cordonier

I am a junior Television Journalism and International Studies Major at West Virginia University. I am currently taking Beginning Television Reporting and I plan on taking Advanced Television Reporting in the Spring, as a member of WVU News. Someday I would like to work abroad, as an overseas reporter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

